Latest News

Hospital team recognised with award

Resus team at Broomfield Hospital

Staff who have helped the sickest hospital patients, by training colleagues in resuscitation and basic life support skills, have been given a prestigious award for their dedication.

The resuscitation team at Broomfield Hospital, also known as the trigger response team, have received the NHS Parliamentary Award for Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care for the East of England.

They were recognised because they developed an innovative programme that meant staff could still receive their training during Covid-19.

Ian Edwards, matron for resuscitation training, said: “We practised with wards by creating a simulated scenario, which helped prepare them for a range of possible situations. We’re thrilled to win this award for helping improve care for some of our sickest patients.”

The NHS Parliamentary Awards are presented based on nominations by local MPs, with the trigger response team put forward by John Whittingdale OBE, MP for Maldon.

He said: “This award is a fantastic recognition of the trigger response team at Broomfield Hospital, who have provided essential training to NHS staff. I want to thank them for everything they continue to do for our local community, and wish them all the best for the national awards ceremony.”

The team organised a ‘basic life support and deteriorating patient awareness week’ to teach other departments about life support, while reassuring patients and visitors and educating the wider community.

They also supported the safe transfer of Covid patients between Intensive Care Units during the pandemic, helping make sure there was space to admit patients during times of high demand.

Dr David Walker, Chief Medical Officer at Mid and South Essex NHS Foundation Trust, said: “I am so proud of the team for winning the regional award in urgent and emergency care. This reflects the lengths they went to for our patients. Best of luck for the next stage of the Parliamentary Awards.”

The team will attend a ceremony in Westminster next month to find out if they have won the national award.

We have placed cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. If you want to block cookies, you can visit our cookie policy page. By continuing to use our website, we’ll assume you agree to the cookie policy we have described and are happy to use our website.

Please choose a setting: